27 May 2021

Conservation and Tourism in the Route of Parks of Chilean Patagonia

This is available to ATTA Members.

If you are a Community, Professional or Business Member with an account login, sign in. Otherwise, you can access this resource by signing up for free Community Membership.

Sign In / Sign Up

We invite you to download the digital resources of the Route of the Parks. Please click here.

The Route of Parks is a vision for the conservation of Chilean Patagonia spanning 17 national parks and protecting 28 million acre. This scenic route runs 1,700 miles between Puerto Montt and Cape Horn and It’s an economic impulse for more than 60 surrounding communities to benefit from conservation.

The region is a greenspace for Chile and the world. After the Amazon Basin, it has one of the highest rates of carbon storage in South America. It’s exceptional ecological value comes from the level of endemism and biodiversity of its temperate and Subantarctic rainforests, wetlands, ice fields and the most extensive fjord system on the planet.

The Route of Parks encompasses one-third of Chile, protecting the incomparable beauty of the end of the world. Today more than ever, we know that for human societies to flourish we need healthy ecosystems with their complexity of species, relationships, and processes.

In this Webinar we will learn about the territories and communities that are part of this unique land and the opportunities for adventure travel experiences in The Route of Parks of Chilean Patagonia that goes across the three southernmost regions of Chile.

Organized by Ruta de los Parques Committee (Tompkins Conservation Chile, Sernatur Los Lagos, Aysén y Magallanes, Programa Territorial Integrado Ruta de Los Parques de la Patagonia y PER Turismo Aysén)


Kristine Tompkins

President and co-founder of Tompkins Conservation and UN Environment Patron of Protected Areas

Carolina Morgado

Executive Director - Tompkins Conservation Chile

Ximena Castro

President of the Route of Parks of Chilean Patagonia Committee, representing Los Lagos, Aysén and Magallanes regions